set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Thanksgiving, Turkey Day: It Is All the Same, Happy Thanksgiving

[2003-11-27] @ [5:59 a.m.]

Today, it is finally here. Thanksgiving, Turkey Day, nothing in a name. It is all the same thing but the actual concept of it has changed over the centuries. Orignally it was the day to give thanks and such for family and crops. The settlers at Pymoth had it hard their first winter, when the next harvest came, they were lucky to make it through with help from Native-Americans. That maybe isthe real story or the "classic" tale told to children just to make them happy. I honestly do not know. But let's restate the facts. Turkey day use to day for giving thanks, at least then it was. Of course it really didn't become an offical holiday until President Lincoln made it one, if my memory serves correctly.

Let's take a look at Thanksgiving today. It is still romanticized as being the holiday where family gets together happily, where it is a picture-perfect world where nothing goes wrong. Kind of like that Walgreen's comerical creating the perfect little town called Perfect. That is not perfect, it is just plain creepy. Thanksgiving it not at all like that, then again it is. This is way, I'm writing, I'm leaving towards Washington D.C. in an hour or so to go have Thanksgiving at my grandparents.

My family is the only one that is coming, compared to the usual other uncles and aunts and smaller cousins (which I'm older by at least seven years). It is only going ot be us this year. I can deal with that, I just won't have to act so distant. Every Turkey Day is different, that is what makes it fun and great. But I still have to get a copy of Newsweek. There is a Return of the King special in it. Amanda all ready got it, she told me is quite informative. So it is "educational" for me to inform myself.

The road trip for about four hours will be murder though. Yes, even though I am the only one in the back seat that is human, I'll have two dogs with me. I must find a way to keep myself busy. My best bet is bring all my CDs, a lot of batteries, Lord of the Rings, and my notebooks. Amanda has the idea of shooting a movie sometime within the next month with Liz and I. So I need to start think of locations to shoot at and work perhaps on the script. I really do not know. It does provide me something to do. I also need to bring up my journal I keep for AP English, I should be able to write something similar and interesting like this.

Now, here I pause, is there anything else in need of covering. I'll be gone two days coming back late Friday night. I'm going to try to update when I get back or while I'm up there.

Note to self: Have fun because your with family.

Okay, Kelly, you do that.

For now, so long and Happy Thanksgiving. Hopefully all this made some sense in the long run. I'm off to make the best of today.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage