set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

One day we shall all be human batteries for machines... or will we????

[2004-01-27] @ [8:52 p.m.]

Have you heard about the new virus named "MyDoom" yet? It's the new virus that is almost as bad the the SoBig e-mail worm if not worse. Once I learned about it, I went into panic mode checking my system for spy ware and doing my anti-virus scan a bit early. Luckly all I found was trojan-horse and was able to delete it. For those who aren't very tech savvy, a trojan-horse is a bug that messes up your computer code and can do a number of nasting things. Luckly, I mangaged to catch it.

But it brought a common issue to my mind that I have often read about. I watch Tech TV daily. It is like my CNN. It amazes me of technology and what humankind has created. One of the things I saw was high-tech hunting gear on a show called Tech Live. Then I think about The Matrix. Do you remember in the first movie, if you've seen it, when Morphous talks to Neo about humans being dependent on machines? People today now relay on machines to do everything.

Now, I'm not againist technology in some cases like research to better human kind and etc. But when technology creates something as meaningless like talking and singing plastic fish, it just gets plain mad. Then you see all these new thigns such as a nano-sized guitar. I'm serious on this one. A nano sized guitar that can only be played using a laser beam. But the idea of machines becoming smarter than man one day is frightening. I believe that Issac Asmovi (sp?) said that machines will only be as smart as their creator. I honestly wonder if that shall hold true.

Perhaps somewhere in the distant future, a Matrix styled future will come about. Machines will perhaps enslave human kind and there is only a small group of of humans to save us all. The idea of something like that happening is distrubing, like I've said before.

Well, that hasn't come true yet. But with each passing day in the technology age, machines are growing smaller, quicker, and smarter. But will machines surpass their creators, we have yet to find out.

Wow, all of that rambling brought on by a new virus. But on a serious note. Read up on the MyDoom virus so you can be bettered prepared. Till then, I have more stuff to study for.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage