set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Am I alone in here?

[2004-04-20] @ [12:26 a.m.]

I kept tossing in turning. I was not comfortable. My gaze kept landing on one place. My clock laying on the nightstand. I kept hearing the repeative ticking from the two clocks in my room. Tick. Tock. Tick. Tock. They weren't in unison after shortly falling in line. Usually, this doesn't bother me, but tonight it did. So I decided to turn on my radio. Some show called Rockline comes on and does interviews for rockstars. Hearing frantic fans just made it all the worse.

I am restless tonight if you cannot tell. Though I am up, all of my family except me is laying down. I am here typing at my computer, staring at the glow of the monitor.

Though it may feel early to some, it is late for me. Seeing as I have nothing better to do. I'll just type.

Whenever I am up like this, I always find myself sneaking to my computer, turning it on, logging on dland, and clicking the "add entry" button. I don't know why I always feel the urge to talk about me being up in the middle of the night to people who could probably care less about me and my little troubles.

But tonight, I don't know what is keeping me up. Usually I know because it invovles school work or exams, something along those lines. But tonight, I just feel restless. The defintion of restless is as follows:

restless: adj

1: unable to relax or be still; "a constant fretful stamping of hooves"; "itchy for excitement"; "a restless child"

2: worried and uneasy

3: ceaselessly in motion; "the restless sea"; "the restless wind"

4: marked by a lack of quiet; not conducive to rest; "spent a restless night"; "fell into an uneasy sleep"

I think a few of those defintions apply to me in one way or another. I was looking back over at some previous entries from December 11th in where the very same thing was happening to me. I kept questioning why I was up and why I am like this. Except then I knew what was keeping me up that time around. But not this time around. Uh-huh. Not this time.

Thank goodness though this doesn't happen on a daily basis and I only go through with this in phases. I sleep forever for a while then my sleeping habits get a bit irregular then go back to normal. I'm still trying to understand. Gotta love being awake at night with the entire world asleep. I feel like writing a poem or a short story again.

And the title. I don't know where it came from. I think it is part of a song but I have that stuck in my head. And one last thing. Happy Birhtday, Sarah.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage