set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Not my own skin.

[2004-06-19] @ [6:48 p.m.]

It is odd. Life that is. Especially when you least suspect it, something completely different happens. This is how life is and always will be. But one thing I shall never understand, no matter how odd it is, trying to figure out who I am.

I was thinking about this today.

It is difficult in today's society to proclaim yourself as an individual without suffering some flak from it. Today's society seems so quick to judge a person for their beliefs just because it isn't what the majority believes in. It is difficult when trying to defend your beliefs to those who attack you. It is times like these when you find it difficult to be yourself and you force yourself to change so they accept you. Well, it might not be like that some but it is for me.

I have a difficulty in trying to figure out who I am and sticking with it. People say to be your self and that honesty is always the best policy. If those pieces of advice are given so often and are expected to follow. How come people often change their beliefs in order to fit others? I am guilty of this myself. I have been since I was young. I think another word for this is peer pressure or acceptance. I dunno. All I know is that who is to say what is right and what is wrong?

All I know is that when people question me as a person, I feel uncomfortable and it makes me doubt myself. Maybe I am just not comfortable with myself yet because I don�t know who I am right now. They say your teenage years are the best years of your life. Best years of your life my ass. This is probably one the most difficult times in your life because you are trying to find yourself and get a stand in the world before life chews you up and spits you back out so you would have to come crawling home on your hands and knees.

But I�ve been dramatic enough tonight and I�m calling it quits before I become in a really bad mood and ruin everyone�s night. Well, there is one place that cheers me up because there are so many cool flash games.

Till then.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage