set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

My evil clone did it.

[2004-09-23] @ [9:20 p.m.]

Okay, like I'm promised, I'm back. I started to type this entry this morning but I pressed a wrong button earlier this morning messing up my entry and I was too lazy to retype it. Okay... to get an overview of this, go back one or you can just read on. I would opt for the latter if I were you since I am going to type it anyways.

In the little blockquote, I mentioned last night that I went to an open mic poetry reading at a local coffee shop. Half of my creative writing class was there a long with my teacher. I came early to grab dinner and I brought and old notebook full of poems with me.

I did not know why I brought the notebook. I orignally had no intention of getting up front of a crowd of strangers and reading my works. But something in me just urged me to sign my name up on the dry erase board. I would be the fourth one reading the evening.

But my name was called. I had just had a huge cappuccino and I was wired on caffeine. So talk about nervousness setting in while wired and hyper all at once. But once I heard my name, I tripped a few times on my way to the small stage.

I have never felt so insert word similar to nervous. I read slowly and pronuced every word which is rare. I swear my knees were about to give way from underneath me. My heart was caught in my throat. And I had never felt so alive.

And I became somewhat addicted to it.

There's an old saying that I read somewhere that I kept thinking of: stand at the edge of a stage and it'll be something you'll never forget. That's what happened. So I'm going back next Wenesday night. Woohoo.

Now if you excuse me. The season premire of ER is on right now and I love that show. So good evening and Happy Friday eve.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage