set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Open Mic Poetry Night v. Drama Class

[2005-02-09] @ [9:30 p.m.]

I remember why I love going to Open Mic Poetry Night at Java Junction on Wenesdays. I have fun (despite I usually need to finish homework when I come home). But yeah, tonight I went because last week I didn't because I had mucho work to do. But tonight I went and I had grand fun. I remembered how much I enjoy reading pieces of my work to people I am somewhat familiar with. I mean, tonight, I did some revoulotionary (?). I actually memorized one of my people and recited it to a group of strangers who could have cared less but I people listened and I got appaluded for it. And that is what I love about it: the reaction I get from reading it. Refer to here.

I remember the nervousness I felt and the relief afterwards the first time. I loved it and I believe I described it as an addiction and the Chia Tea Latte was good too. I need to have some sort of caffiene in me before I read to crowds. It helps.

But I wish Acting Techniques could be like that because frankly, I despise going to that class everyday. Actually dread is much more of a better word. Yeah, I dread going to that class. Maybe its because I don't like the teacher because I swear she doesn't like me. Or maybe the reason why I don't seem to enjoy the class is because it is for a grade and I haven't been able to relate to anything... yeah, that sounds about right. And the class seems to drag out for hours when infact it only last from 2:10 till 3:38 usually (that's still a long time).

Reading a poem in front of a person is one thing while reciting a play from memory is another thing. I'm trying to get the jest of it but then again, I'm not. Why don't I enjoy it like I do with reading my poetry?

Enough complaints from me. You're probably sick of hearing them like everyone is these days. So I'm calling it a night.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage