set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

I don't think I'm breathing!

[2005-03-16] @ [4:42 p.m.]

I have to leave for work at five but as I type this, sitting and eating my quick dinner of plain hot dogs with ketchup and a mountain dew, I am rushing. I still have mounds of homework to get done but I don't have time and I don't plan on taking any because of the fact it is near spring and the past few nights that I have worked there, it has been busy to say the least so I probably won't have time to even do any of my homework so why bring it?

I feel rushed this evening.

There inlays the point of the entry that I am rushing to type right now so I can feel at least that I have accomplished something before I leave for work. (Gosh, I'm typing really quickly right now). Have you ever noticed that a lot of our society (myself included) is always rushing about to get things done?

If it is not one thing, it is another thing. I think the term I have heard is that we are a hypertasking society. We complain we don't have enough time where as we have all the time in the world. If it is important to us, we'll make the time to do the task.

But society is growing quicker too, encouraging this hypertasking thing. Two-minute dinners. Faster processor speeds. Taxes done online. Quicker lines at the supermarkets. Quicker gas pumps. Faster online connections. These are things that we cannot live without. Yet things we should try to live less without. Back in the day before the computer age, things (in my humble opinion even though I wasn't born yet) were probably less stressful... like if you live out in the country instead of the city.

Rush. Rush. Rush.

I need to remember to breathe... we all do. Friday or Saturday, I think I might take it easy... considering I have to work from 5-9 tomorrow night.

Let's hope tonight goes quickly, eh?


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage