set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Road Warrior and Reading

[2005-06-27] @ [10:08 p.m.]

Driving has always scared me to an extent. It has and always will. There is no excuse for it except for the risk I take everytime I step into the driver's seat. Now this fear has grown slightly worse when I stop at stoplights or behind someone because of my accident back on April 5th when I accidently hit someone in their back bumper. It has been settled.

But recently (I have been wanting to talk about this for a very long time), I noticed that the city has installed cameras at all the intersections that I have passed on my way to work, Barns and Noble, Java Junction, and other places. I'll be honest with you. Those things make me nervous as crap. I think that their main purpose is to catch those who run red lights. I don't like those. I mean, I'll give it the credit of trying to keep the city safe but me being the self-induced paranoid one that I am, hate the idea that someone is watching my every move. I mean, I am a bad judge of yellow lights because sometime it'll turn yellow when I am about to cross the intersection or when I am all ready through it and the lasting effect of the yellow light can vary greatly. I actually tend to speed up when there's a camera at a light when I think I won't make it. It is like it has the reverse effect on me.

Maybe I am just a weird person.

Then there's this little thing about cops traveling in the oppisite of the highway while I'm going about 60 or 65 depending on traffic in a 55 zone. I mean, I keep picturing it always being one of those high speed chases like you see on those cop shoes but it never happens because if it did, it would probably be someone else because I have a lot of people pass me most of the time.

I am a self-conscious about driving.

In other news...

Anyhow, last Saturday I finished A Farewell to Arms within a week. It is a very good book and I highly recommand it. Yet today, I did a trip up to Barns and Noble and picked up John Steinbeck's East of Eden. The last John Steingbeck book I read was Of Mice and Men in 9th grade. Yet the book seems interesting. I'm trying to get it done within two weeks. I really want to read as many books as I can before going to college this summer. I guess some habits die hard considering I've had summer reading assignments for the past several years for English and now it just feels so empty... I'm reading classics just for fun now.

I am weird.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage