set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Java Junction Poetry Slam

[2005-07-16] @ [10:41 p.m.]

"A poem is never finished, only abandoned." - Paul Valery (1871-1945)

I have never been to poetry slams before tonight, just to let you know.

Tonight though I did. It was fun and different.Basically, it is like a contest for reading poetry (which I didn't know before tonight). I thought it was like a regular open mic which was just a bit more competitive instead of just sharing your work. Yet to add a competition to it reminded me when I was performing the play for Drama back in May and how nervous I was.

Yet what can you do except throw yourself into it and just do it (which is pretty much the same for any type of public speaking, which I am horrible at [I am working on it, mind you!]). I stuttered a few times when I lost my place but other than that, I am pretty sure I spoke clearly and loudly. Those who have done this before said I did well so that has to be worth something amd I did have fun so that is the important thing.

Yet I got home around 10:30, happy and content with this Saturday. And I also got the new Harry Potter book I preordered from Barns and Noble.com. I've all ready read 200 pages and that was just in two hours. I think I'll probably finish it by Monday at earliest.

Anyhow, good night.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage