set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

To err is human...

[2005-08-24] @ [5:47 p.m.]

I am only human. To err is human, to forgive divine. Or something like that.

I have been putting so much stress under myself for the past few days that it has become unbearable to the point where I will start crying. It has happened a few times within the past couple days and I am not afraid to admit it. The whole thing is new and foreign. Learning Italian 101 when the entire class is conducted in Italian is difficult. Trying to balance getting all my homework and reading done before my classes is next to near impossible. Trying to have some fun to relieve stress seems hard to come by. I don't know if it is a gift or curse.

I keep putting all this pressure concerning my studies because I want to do well. Extremely well. I want my parents to be proud of me. I want to graduate with a good gpa. I want to learn all that I can in the short time I have. I feel rushed, like I have to get everything done within this week, like declaring a major and deciding if I truly want to have a double minor with theatre and Latin. I am putting too much unnecessary pressure on myself for no reason.

I love my parents. Most of the time they understand. Sometimes, they are disagreeable. Yet no matter what, I do love them. They also have a tendency to point out my major flaws rather bluntly. One flaw is that I hold on too tight, to speak correctly of the fact that I am too serious about things. It is crazy. I am human though. I can only do so much. I need to learn to accept that while I am here at university or it will be my undoing for I will truly do badly in class.

Take it one day at a time. We're only human. I am only human and there is only so much that I can do.

Now if you excuse me, I am going to take on history, one ancient civilization at a time until I conquer the entire ancient world and my textbook and they are at my utter control.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage