set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Adventures in the kitchen.

[2006-01-12] @ [10:39 p.m.]

I find joy in the smallest achievements. That way I can strive to keep myself happy in small steps instead of these enormous steps that would probably end up being a lot worse.

Also, I learned I love cooking (if my creation is edible).

Usually, I don't cook dinner for the family, or at least a "real" dinner where there is actually work instead of taking something out of the freezer and calling it dinner. To be honest, it has actually been awhile since I've actually cooked anything. I have come to depend of those ready made meals or snacks. Nor do I want myself to sound lazy. Really. I haven't been that creative in the kitchen in awhile.

The only time I usually cook dinner is for myself when the night is everyone for themselves. Yet that is not to say I haven't cooked for my family before. There is breakfast in there (which often is much simpler because there seems to be little or no variety with the typical breakfast) where I have cooked. Yet eggs are easy.

We only had pasta, ravioli to be exact. Then I managed to grab a few extra things at Food Lion and I managed to whip up something.

What really made my night was my parents went back for seconds, which to me is considered a compliment.

Cooking it like making a great masterpiece, except you can actually eat it. I think I may have found a new hobby or at least something new that I would like to try again in the future.

P.S. I am not that lazy... or at least, I try not to be that lazy. Honestly.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage