set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

I usually try to save one life a day, usually my own.

[2006-04-10] @ [12:11 a.m.]

I remembered there was a time in my life where I couldn't type. At least not without looking at the keyboard or pressing one key at a time.

It wasn't really until I was twelve did I learn to type, and mind you, I had been learning to type since third grade. And it was weird because today, I can type fairly well and my laptop has forced me to learn the number row instead of using the keypad. And then I begin to question the greater mysteries of the universe by staring at the dorm room ceiling and typing because if I think about actually typing, I think I am going to screw up.

It is like breathing. If I think about it, I try to control my breathing instead of letting it happen naturally. Like typing, for the most part, has become second nature for me. I wish sometimes learning another tongue is that simple.

Granted, out of the languages I have learned (excluding English since that is my first tongue) Italian seems to be the language that is really sticking in my memory. Even though I can remember some Spanish and even less Latin. And I don't care if I am horrible at speaking Italian. I'm horrible at speaking English sometimes as well, including when I sleep. But if I hear it, I can sometimes pick up the general meaning of the message if the words being said are in my small set of vocabulary that I have already learned and/or picked up. I can read it decently as well.

I want to be able to go up to a person and say I know a language fluently along with English. Yet how did I get it to become second nature like typing?

And a side note, I just thought it was Sunday morning even though it is Monday right now. Not going to bed two nights ago really screwed me up because I went to bed at 1:30 on Sunday morning to wake up at ten and also take a two hour nap in the afternoon. It was lovely. Yet I'm not that tired right now. Well maybe a little but normally, I would usually be out by eleven or midnight.

So, I'm going to finish up a bit more homework. And the title is from Farscape and I hope I got the quote down because it has been forever since I've seen the episode.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage