set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Thunder and lightning very, very frightening!

[2006-08-31] @ [10:53 p.m.]

"I root for hurricanes. When, courtesy of the Weather Channel, I see one forming in the ocean off the coast of Africa, I find myself longing for it to become big and strong-Mother Nature's fist of fury, Gaia's stern rebuke." - James Wolcott

So long as that hurricane isn't hurtling towards you.

It is the the middle of Atlantic hurricane season, folks and as I type this, wannabe hurricane/tropical storm Ernesto is probably making landfall at the southern tip of beautiful North Carolina. I just hope that Ernesto loses strength after the remark I just typed about the storm.

There have been power surges within the past hour. And I have an lovely image of the storm courtsey on NOAA on my desktop taken from around five this evening. I stare at it in despite because I am trying to intimidate it for not ruining my weekend. Which it'll probably do.

The last storm that was from the Caribbean to grace the Nothereastern North Carolina / Hampton Roads area of Virginia was tropical storm/depression Alberto back in June. Here's my entry from then. That really wasn't much of a tropical storm but instead a really big system that left six inches of rain with in 24 hours. Roads were a mess then and there is a strong chance of that tomorrow. Hopefully not.

This does not make me happy though. Don't you dare become a hurricane just because you're winds are at seventy miles per hour, Ernesto! You need five more miles per hour to be a catagory one hurricane. Don't even think about it, tropical storm!

Like that is going to help any.

I don't like the predicted path either of the storm.

Pardon the pun but this is totally putting a damper on my weekend and is keeping with the tradation of my birthday weekend. It always rains. Storm front or hurricane or tropical storm.

I have a feeling that if I continue to write anymore, it will just be more complaining about Ernesto and wishing/hoping that the storm doesn't rain out my weekend and birthday. Pardon the pun again.

I'm going to try and do some homework even though I have a very strong feeling classes will be cancelled tomorrow. At least morning classes.

Anyways... cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage