set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Saw this on tv.

[2006-10-02] @ [7:35 p.m.]

"The only thing I was fit for was to be a writer, and this notion rested solely on my suspicion that I would never be fit for real work, and that writing didn't require any."
- Russell Baker

I find it hilarious when people ask me what my major is.

"What is your major?

"I'm an English major," I will say casually if not a bit of pride in my voice. Mind you, I've wanted to be an English major for a long time so I will be a bit prideful about my choice in degrees.

Thus elicits a response somewhere around, "English major? What the hell are you going to do with that?"

Well, there are a lot of things that I can do after I finish at the undergraduate level I believe. Journalism (which I really don't want to do), marketing, publishing, advertising, writing, teaching (not little kids), and loads of other things. If not there is always continuing at the graduate level and getting my MA somewhere or even a PhD (highly unlikely at the moment).

I will be truthful here. I have an idea with what I want to do with my life. Nothing is set in stone. I remember I once wrote an entry in this diary what I wanted to do with my life when I was fifteen.

Then I deleted it when I was going through a really bad paranoia stage as I did with basically all my entries from October 17, 2002 till around December 24, 2002 and a few in 2003. I'm weird like that.

Yet then, when I was fifteen, I was a sophomore in high school. I wanted to get my degree in English, going to college in New Orleans, and later living and working in the same city as a journalist.

Well, it is about four or five years later and I still haven't figured out what I want to do with my life. I know I really want to write (what English major doesn't) and try to make a living off my creative works. If I get published in a few places with royalties, neato. I would also like to be a free lance web designer and let people higher me to design web sites. Or maybe work as an editor of some kind.

Yet at the same time, I want to travel a bit. Maybe do my grad school overseas in England or Australia or New Zealand (might as well get an MA in English where people speak English). Or live a while in the Caribbean or on the Northern Beaches of the Outer Banks in a little beach cottage.

These ideas are things I would like to do within the next ten years if I could. Unfortunately none of this will happen if I don't get a handle on the rest of my homework I have this evening. I got my lab report done, the big thing. I just need to start on a Psychology paper, finish reading the required section for Anna Karenina, start researching some stuff, and do and Italian assignment within the next few days.

Till then.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage