set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

When groundhogs attack major decisions about life.

[2007-02-02] @ [9:08 p.m.]


My. My. How I do love Firefox for it's capability to customize the browser through a series of free themes and extensions (which I have recently discovered) and have customized it so I have extensions centered around web development, a weather forecast, and pretty blue themes that remind me some of Vista and Mac OS X. That basically sums up the minute's excitement for right now.

So. Today.

I'll begin with it snowed yesterday with snow flakes that were big and thick that would have stuck nicely, if the snow decided to accumulate. Which unfortunately, it did not do so. Instead, it snowed steadily for an hour or so, turned to ice, then rain, and then nothing. It did make for a nice, nasty, cold mixture to walk in during classes. It seems that this area is doomed never to get a snow day or at least a slight dusting of snow to make everything seem all pretty first thing in the morning.

I also got to hear Jamaica Kincaid speak last night. It was kind of required for one of my classes because we're going to read the novel Annie John later in the semester. I found it be very interesting to hear her speak. Just a little interesting note I thought I would share. Yet I digress and that was yesterday I just wrote about.

Probably the most significant thing that happened was that I decided to drop my history minor today. Mind you, this is the first place I've actually mentioned dropping the minor. So now I'm just an ordinary English major; it feels weird in truth. I've known I wanted to be an English major since my sophomore year of high school (with a little indecision last year). Since I applied to CNU, I decided that I was going to be an English major with a minor in history. I had my mind set on it.

I have a passion for history. I always have. Yet after my American History class this morning at eight, I made the decision, as much as I love history, I really couldn't utilize it in the fields I want to go into. And I want to take loads of electives because there is so much I want to try and gain experience in. So I think it'll be for the best in the long run. Besides, I can always add the minor again and it isn't life threatening that I have one in order to graduate.

There is a quote that I could not stop thinking of last night.

She was to eager to live herself. - Anna Karenina

I got the chance to read the Maude English translations of the Russian novel and I fell in love with it. Especially the quote. It is one of those novels that you can feel like you can relate to in some way, at least identify with the characters. Tolstoy did a wonderful job with that. And that's what I think is one of the important things with a book: being able to identify on some level with it.

I've read over this entry and I feel confident I have no typos or any nonsense like that.

So off I go to read and do a wee bit of homework before I tackle the big mountain load this weekend.

Happy belated Groundhog's Day. Obscure, random, holiday goodness.

Cheers.

P.S. I think I got bit by a bed bug a few nights ago. Damn buggers. Taking over the world in such. There is no safe place anymore, not even in my own bed.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage