set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Silly little butterflies on a quill pen.

[2007-02-07] @ [8:09 p.m.]

"Poetry is not a turning loose of emotion, but an escape from emotion; it is not the expression of personality, but an escape from personality. But, of course, only those who have personality and emotions know what it means to want to escape from these things." - T.S. Eliot

I write to:


  1. inform

  2. entertain

  3. destress

  4. create

  5. escape

  6. be me.

Writing has always played a huge part in my life since I was 11. This is also part of the reason why I declared my concentration in English to be Writing. I keep up this diary to inform and to entertain and distress. I write papers to inform though they can be a pain sometimes.

Writing itself is suppose to be a simple concept. You think of what you want to say and you merely write it down. Sometimes, if I've been slaving over a hot computer trying to compose a paper for class, I feel like I am rambling and none of my words make sense and it is a stylistic minefield. And that it is redundant. Like the word document I have open right now. My goal is to do a page a night because it only has to be around four pages. A small paper but very difficult to write. Sometimes you just got to push away from it or the paper will end up frying and eating your brain.

Seriously.

So, I was let down again by weather forecasters with the very strong possibility of slight accumulation last night of snow. I expected waking up this morning to a dusting of white but only see a bunch of guys running around below the dorm window looking like they were doing some sort of practice. Le sigh.

So aside, from the history mid-term and Italian test I have this coming Friday. I'm fantastic. I should be reading over what I have just written tonight or studying or at least doing the required readings for tomorrow's test but do I really feel like working right now? Not really. Doing something fun and spontaneous? Yeah.

Sadly, I feel like I am rambling right now. I'm actually very tired, considering how early it is and I slept so-so last night.

So, I'm off to make myself for another hour or so before calling it quits tonight.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage