set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

La tua ragazza � un tostapane.

[2007-02-12] @ [6:51 p.m.]

Language is difficult. And annoying.

It should be simple trying to convey what you mean but it isn't. I've spent the past three hours writing and revising papers and I think it is time for a break at least from reviewing papers related to academia. And I'm upset about my Italian test I got back today. Auditory is one of weaker sections, next to speaking, in language.

A majority of the test focused on ci and ne. If you did not know, these two little particelle can be used for expressing idiomatic expressions, locations, quantities, prepositional phrases and loads of other stuff. It is a lot to memorize and I did fairly well on the written sections. Still, it was annoying and difficult.

Language as a concept is easy but not in practice. Somehow, somewhere, something gets lost in translation.

So now that I have that off my chest, I feel better. Speaking of Italian though, since we're still on the subject of it, kind of. We talked about briefly about name days and almost everyone in the class (it is a small class) had their own name day. It is odd to know that my name is very Irish, at least from what I can tell and that there are no saints that have any variant of my name. But according to wikipedia, it is the second most common family name in Ireland. Yet the name means:

contentious (wikipedia) but has varied to "war, strife" or from a Gaelic word meaning "bright-headed" since it is derived from ceallach but might be from a Pictish word meaning "wood" or "holly" (Behind the Name)

Also, new goal for this coming Wednesday (Valentine's Day). I am not going to be gloomy like I usually am. I'm my own Valentine's (does that sound odd?) because I bought myself two CDs, the soundtracks to the first two seasons of the re-imagined Battlestar Galatica and a wee bit of chocolate. Hurray Chocolate!

Anyways, I need to finish up my homework for my classes tomorrow so I can get started on the homework for Wenesday's classes.

Cheers.

P.S. The title is in Italian, it is part of the lyrics from a song, and babel fish does a pretty good translation. Cheers, for certain.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage