set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

A semi review of the third "Pirates" movie

[2007-05-25] @ [11:24 p.m.]

Feeling incredibly geeky right now.

Spoilers ahead for Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End. What is a spoiler you ask?

A spoiler is a summary or description of a narrative (or part of a narrative) that relates plot elements not revealed early in the narrative itself. Moreover, because enjoyment of a narrative sometimes depends upon the dramatic tension and suspense which undergird it, this early revelation of plot elements can "spoil" the enjoyment that some consumers of the narrative would otherwise have experienced. [Wikipedia]

You've been warned.

I was under the impression I was going to the movies today with a friend. Well, going to the movies with a friend plan didn't fall through so I came up with another plan; go to the movies myself. That is actually the first time I've done that, gone to the movies by myself. I've entertained the idea but I actually went through with it today. The movie? Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End.

Okay, the movie was around three hours long. Not once did I get up for the bathroom because who would watch my seat. It was a little weird because the theater wasn't packed like it was last year when I saw Dead Man's Chest.

Anyways, I loved the opening. It was very creepy and scary and eerie. Ooooh! Aaaah! Not once did I think the movie was drawn out like I did once or twice during the second movie. It seemed to be nonstop action while at the same time retouching on all the jokes that have been mentioned in past movies. Another thing I digged was the multiple story lines though it was confusing a few times.

There were were some really lovely character archs...such as Will Turner. Will. Where to begin? I've read since falling for the franchise in 2003 that Will always seemed to be the goody-two-shoes, heroic, noble and all that jazz. And a "eunuch" too. But here there is some lovely development with him involving betrayal and him being all bad ass. I especially giddy with all the shipper action between Will and Elizabeth. Face it. I'm a Will/Elizabeth shipper. Though the ending left me a bit upset. He's the new captain of the Flying Dutchman? Immortal and only allowed to set foot on land every ten years. That must strain the marriage between him and Elizabeth. Hint: if you can, stay towards the end of the credits to see the little extra scene. I think there's some fanfic inspiration there...

Then there is Elizabeth. She's certainly grown with the past two movies and she is know the Pirate King. Wouldn't that make her the Pirate Queen though because she is a woman? I'm glad her and Will hooked up but as I mentioned above, their marriage must be difficult.

And Jack. Good ol' Jack. Who doesn't love Captain Jack? Though he was after immortality, he seemed to be the Cap'n Jack we saw in the first pirate's movie. He gave up his desire to be immortal as the Dutchman's ship to save Will after Jones stabbed him. He really is a good man it seems.

Other than that, there seems so much more I could talk about but character development seemed to be the biggest thing for me. And the effects are awesome. That was another thing. I love the giant whirlpool fight scene. I loved the movie if you can't tell.

Though as I said a few endings left me a bit unhappy and give me the desire to write some fanfiction to change that a bit. So anyways, I have work tomorrow and I want to write some of story before going to bed.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage