set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Silence must be heard!

[2007-11-06] @ [9:09 p.m.]

Who got all her classes for the spring semester? Me. That's who.

Though I was tempted to scream while I was in the computer lab during registration this morning, I didn't. I couldn't say the same for the guy siting behind me. He didn't get four out of the five classes he needed or something. He was shouting, he threw his jacket on the floor, complained how bad the internet was to the IT people (and after three years of going to the school and going through registration, the internet is going to be slow with classes because you have a thousand people trying to access the same sight as you at the same time). Come on, use your head. The best you can do is have the right class numbers and hope for the best.

Lucky, the fates were on my side this morning. The classes I have are as follows for those who want to know:

Engl 325 - Modern World Literature
Engl 353W - Business Writing for the Professionals
Engl 354W - Public Relations Writing
Engl 395 - Postmodern America
CLSC 201 - The Mythic Imagination (aka Classic 101 with Greek Mythology).

Pushing it again with four English classes and two of them being writing intensive. I only need three of the English classes for my degree. The elective is World Lit. I really want to pursue my masters (yes, I think too far ahead) in literature, specifically in World Lit and it gives me a good background to pursue it in. Anyways, with the classics class, I wanted to do something fun. What can be better than Greco-Roman mythology?

So Don Quijote is haunting me. So is Calvino and this thing brought on by the Russian Formalists known as skaz. I know I've been talking about those things a lot lately. It is hard not to avoid talking about it.

I have a enough research on the stuff to make a small book out of it sitting on my night stand. I sleep next to it. Don Quijote haunts me in my dreams, especially when I am trying to take a deconstructive approach on his crazy fantasies. Meaning A flips meaning B, meaning B flips meaning A, and then meaning C is something else entirely that is open to new ideas.

Hurray for deconstruction! And I suck at balancing my own checkbook...I guess this goes to show you I'm not a good mathematician.

Ah, well, off I go. Till then.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage