set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Welcome, 2008. We come in peace.

[2008-01-01] @ [5:36 p.m.]

Memories race about the mind, blending and mixing together like water colors, bleeding about the paper and out of the lines.

Well that sounded a lot better yesterday when I was trying to compose my end of the year entry which I never got around to. I got sick through last night and most of this morning. I don't know why, could of been something that I ate. Felt better this morning though so I can't complain towards that start of the new year.

2007 is out and 2008 is in. It is weird how quickly time goes in a blink of an eyes. Since I didn't do the usual end of the year post yesterday, tonight will be a combination of old and new.

You can go back to 2007 to any of the entries and look beyond the usual complaining that it was definitely a year of...growth? It wasn't bad but actually very good. Growth can be a vague word and good at that. I had a lot of good things happen for me and for others around me (like one of my friends getting married).

Yet 2007 is so last year. Out with the old and in with the new. Like the layout here...it was something just thrown together a week ago when I went on my graphic making binge a few days ago with wallpapers for my computers. It was actually a screen shot from a music video I found on youtube and kind of matches the attitude I'm trying to adapt for 2008.

"The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me." - Ayn Rand

I have a really nasty habit of holding myself back because, well, I've managed to at times...be really uptight over the stupidest things. It holds me back and has kept me in the pass from doing stuff like going out with friends or taking that risk and doing something worth while. That sounds like a downer doesn't it? That little paragraph.

Well, it isn't meant to be. I try to keep resolutions simple. Their easier to stick to. Instead of setting unrealistic goals that will never get accomplish, I think the simple goal of learning to relax and go with the flow (in essence freeing myself from myself...that sounds cheesy).

I will have some other goals like reading a bunch of books. Heck, I'm turning 21 this year, which I'm hoping will be pretty exciting instead of anti-climatic.

So, welcome, twenty-oh-eight (not to be confused with two thousand and eight). Let's have some goodness to go around for everyone and not throw any curve balls, eh?

Till tomorrow, cheers.

Hope everyone had a good New Years Day. :)

.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage