set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

What did you do with the Dr. Pepper?

[2008-01-09] @ [9:47 p.m.]

I've been unsuccessful in trying to write an entry this past week. I always start out with these great ideas and I am never able to follow through with them.

Stuff like that happens often with me. I'm sure you've had those things that need to get done and you talk about them all the time but we never end up going through with them. There is always an excuse. I've become really good at making excuses. For real.

It is the first month starting the second week of a new year. The only resolution I came up with was to get the stick out of my butt and loosen up a bit and try not to be so uptight. Should sound simple, eh? Alteration. Anyways, trying to be all relaxed sounds simple enough. So does just doing something instead of talking about it. Or was it the other way around? It would help if I got that adage right. Point is, there is a difference between saying you'll do something and then doing it.

I know more than likely in a year to year and half from now, I'll have my degree but I will be completely clueless to what I will want to do with me life besides going to grad school. Things can change between 20 and 21 just as things can change between 21 and 24. Nothing is truly set in stone and you decide your own destiny and so on. There is free will. Free will to choose what you will do next. I want soda so I decide to go downstairs and grab an unnecessary Dr. Pepper because I have a craving for sugar and caffeine. I may not work as a server again this summer. Undoubtedly there is good money but the work is tough and I want to do something different. Maybe this summer will be different and I'll find something concerning my degree (hopefully) or something a bit more exciting like...Amazing Ice Cream Taste Tester Artist.

There is more to life than the routine and mundane. The trick is just realizing what you want and going after it with all you want. Things will change. I'm not sure what this year holds but I do know I want to try and go after the things I want out of life. Although Wayne Rooney does look a little scary in the above icon...

I just forgot how badly Dr. Pepper makes me burp though. So, off to the The Brother's Karamazov instead. Away!

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage