set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

I'll erase you out with my white out!

[2008-02-23] @ [4:10 p.m.]

music: Incubus - Drive

The song is ancient coming out back in 2001. Funny what is considered ancient but it is one of my favorite songs. Really mellow, especially with the lyrics.

After racking my brain, it feels like just the thing.

I've seriously had a massive case of writer's block for the past few weeks. I suck at coming up with decent arguments anymore even though the ideas are there. It's just trying to get those ideas into intelligible gibberish so people can understand and think I'm smart. Language is really symbols put together to try and convey the meaning of some abstract ideal that may be complete different in meaning for you or me; language though seems to be the only real way these days to affirm the existence of something or someone, like reading a news from newspaper across the world, a random Myspace page, or even a blog or online diary. I probably sound really deep right now; if only I could do that with a short position paper for public relations right now.

The class is taking over my life when I am struggling to talk about the importance of the classics in the life and why one should take a second to experience (or educate or immerse or learn[I can't find a word]) about the ancient world in classics. Some of the stuff is really interesting. Into action-y and violent movies? Forget those and go read Oedipus. What about comedy and women controlling men, possibly being one of the influences on the feminist movement? Lysistrata is a good start and you'll even get a laugh out of it. You can even look at philosophy with Aristotle and Plato. Even sciences! What about democracy? Athens (since we know so much about it) had one of the first ones that the United States probably drew influence from! The only problem is turning all those ideas and words into an amazing position paper that will get me an 'A'.

I have about half of a page written and I don't have to have a lot written. I need to make small and full of meaning. Like perfume.

I'm going to go back to working or at least trying to write it. Here's the video of the song "Drive" by Incubus.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage