set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Surviving and living.

[2008-03-27] @ [7:54 p.m.]

music Atreyu - Lose It

I read an entry from Catsoul's diary this morning and an interesting question was asked: am I living to survive or am I living to live?

Today was great until this evening where I came home and learned something distraught (not concerning me but one of my roommate's extended family). Kind of crappy of me to say but I don't know how to react. So that question could not come at more ironic of a time.

We survive and our reward is to live is my idea. There is no either or. No one is right and no one is wrong. Survival depends on the person or situation. We are products of our environments. Someone's notion of survival might be different on a huge level compared to another. Or if we want to be really complicated, we can talk about Maslow's heirarchy of needs to sound smart.

We will go through each day, struggling to survive. We require food or drink, we get it so we don't die. We are careful to avoid crazy drivers aiming for pedestrians. We try not to lose control overselves when it comes to dealing with stress or idiotic people. We try to not let our emotions control us, taking us over. Goes to Freud's Superego, Ego, and Id. Our reward though? What do we get for all these struggles

Life. We take moments to enjoy laying on freshly cut grass, smelling the smell of green beneath the trees on the warm day. We are glad to have people to around us who care and love us like family. We enjoy the passions and hobbies in our lives. For me, it is writing my long novella story, or reading a good book, or sketching, or doing something on the computer. Or perhaps finding a boyfriend one day. :P

Life entails survival but the reward is living. Life is both survival and living. There cannot be one without the other.

Those are my deep, philosophical two cents for tonight. I am off to note down a entry in my real, paper diary and then to try and do some homework. Till then. So it goes.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage