set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Those people.

[2008-04-14] @ [6:38 p.m.]

music Nightwish - The Escapist

So it seems that the god(s) are giving me all the signs that this internship won't happen. I start with the difference in my information and the information that is on the companies web site about internships. I was going to go over the stuff I was submitting with a consoler at Career Development on campus but that appointment was canceled because she was out of town and her flight was late and she wouldn't be back till tomorrow. I think she's going to give me a call early so at least there's that but I finally found a phone number so I'll give them a ring tomorrow afternoon and see what goes down. I'm going to try and send my stuff regardless on Wednesday just to say I did.

That aside, today was generally good because nothing bad happened. I actually have a purpose in writing tonight, surprisingly, and it isn't me just talking about my day. Tonight's topic: people.

If you've been reading long enough, you know I have a general paranoia distrust towards people as a whole. I also think people as a collective are stupid and arrogant. But a person on an individual basis, once I interact and got to know a person, they're usually fantastic.

I developed this opinion from being overly afraid of people when I was fifteen and learning about such things as identity theft and spyware. I quickly developed the opinion people where out to get me at the tender age of fifteen. I was weary to trust people or things for that matter. Flash forward three years later. College has come. Talk about being out of your element. I dreaded the whole roommate situation. Granted I hated my roommate for the first semester but now she's one of my best friends. Also waitressing played a huge part in this. I believe that the average customer, especially at a bar, is needy and annoying, but of course my job is to serve. The people I had only once I was mechanical. Smile. Serve food. Give check. Pay bill. Smile. Give me my tip. I loved my regulars because they were always in a chatty mood, always happy. Sure you knew what to expect but there was more than, "I am yours to command. I am your waitress for tonight. I follow no orders but your orders..."

Though I may bitch about being a waitress, I do enjoy it. You take the good with the bad. You meet a bunch of interesting people sometimes. I had a conversation about Tolstoy one night last summer with guy who was drinking a giant Foster's, eating potato skins, and reading some philosophy book. I do want to work as waitress again this summer, even though it means high pressure, fast paced work, that is either hit or miss. Take the good with the bad, eh?

This being said, I can get along with strangers. I can be friendly and cautious at the same time. I've been walking a lot this semester. The construction that they've been doing has been difficult with the bike. I see people sometimes that I've seen more than once. There is a McDonald's right down the street from my apartment I pass on my way. I hate fast food but I will go there for a milk shake or a sausage biscuit sometimes in the morning. There is a manager there who, even though he doesn't know my name, he knows my face and usually shouts a greeting if he sees me. I think that is kind of cool. Then there is this little old guy with a motorized powered wheel chair that I've seen twice at a local grocery store. He calls, "Hey, shorty!" Kind of random but I guess he recognizes me. My mile commute is small with little deviations. But there are other places, like the Barnes and Noble at home, where a salesperson might recognize me, especially when I go there every week during the summer. I think its especially crazy when you'll have someone randomly walk up to you and say hi and it turns out to be a person you haven't seen in years. Like me saying hi to my eighth grade English teacher this past summer at Target. I don't think she remembered me, though.

It's cool when a person kind of knows you on a personal basis, it makes you feel like you have a some connection to the world around you.

Enough rambling tonight. I have loads of homework to do and be enthralled and inspired by, like an annotated bibliography and a paper involving very dense postmodern psychoanalytical analysis. Hurray theory! For real. Till then, so it goes.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage