set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. - Aldous Huxley

[2008-08-09] @ [12:03 a.m.]

music The Damning Well - Awakening

I know I've plugged this game in the past called 6 Differences. It's more like an art show than a game. The goal is you go through about six or seven stages trying to find the differences between two semi-alike pictures. The pictures though are amazing. It is like your are exploring a city through the night. As you go on, it gets a bit more strange, like things usually do as you go on without sleep. I personally love playing it repeatedly, especially in the wee morning hours. Check it out if you want a visual treat.

I digress way too easily, and I find myself drawn to coffee, well caffeine in general, the same way I am while I'm at school.

The insatiable pull of being up late and zoning in and out of things. I'm just tired, that's all. You're alert but not really. Lethargic with a mind screaming at you to do stuff is the best way I could put it. Also, it is so hard to try and stay awake when there's nothing really to do except letting your brain rot by watching crap on television. I personally am not up for that.

Like I've said in the past, reading is a great way to deal with this situation. But you have to be careful with what you read. In my wanderings, especially when I was checking my hotmail accounts, I stumbled across this article title "Why Generation Y Is Broke" and I read and I became aware. Not paranoid. Aware. There's a difference. Then I found this article, here, discussing if going and investing in grad school will really pay off. Getting an MBA or a MS in something rather than, I don't know getting a MA in English for instance? Getting a master's degree in a field is an accomplisment no matter what and is very important, but I don't think that a master's in liberal arts should be dismissed so easily when comparing it something like an MBA. It had some information how people are disregarding the humanities more and more as a background in science and the hard stuff because more of the norm. I understand why this is, even if I don't necessarily agree with it. I believe that a strong background in arts and humanities, no matter how ridiculous it might be is important. Very important.

Take for instance the elective I took last semester; it was an upper level literature course offered in the English department. I didn't need to take it because I had fulfilled my earlier requirement of having a world literature the previous semester. The class was title Modern World Literature and the books we learned were up to the discresion of the professor based on his or her expertise. The professor teaching the class, whom I've had four times previous, did postmodern Eastern European literature. And you're probably thinking what could something so obscure have to do with anything at all? The themes that are associated with the books: themes of war, exile, identity, sex, and power of knowledge to name a few.

One of the reason I'm so passionate about literature it scares people with my geekness is because it is the study of people, the study of the human condition just like history and mythology is (and I will throw in psychology too for the hell of it). Psychology though is like the weird love child between biology and philosophy. I bet Freud would love that analogy. I also count languages among the humanities because communication is important as well. That last bit was just kind of thrown in.

I think that's why I would enjoy teaching, especially at a college level. People forget the importance of the humanities and it gets lost along the way. I could see myself teaching high school, even though that really isn't my first choice. To acquire a teaching license and a masters doesn't seem to be too difficult really, if worse comes to worse. I've heard of programs where companies will pay for your education, or at least pay you back or something.

I'm not totally opposed to the idea of teaching in public school, or high school for that matter. I'm a product of the public school system. I'm just...very critical shall we say about the idea of no child left behind and standardized testing. I'm not all against it, but nor am I saying that I'm all for it. I believe that they didn't start the whole standardized testing until I was fifth grade or third. I remember have to do these remedial classes at one point while I was in sixth grade (I think). I'm not sure. At the same time, in high school, I would get passed advance on my tests but be barely getting by in some classes. Geometry comes to mind...

Evil right angles and triangles.

Well, I have Sprout, one of my dogs, laying on the floor next to me, snoring. I guess that means I best be going. Look, scarey Wayne Rooney above.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage