set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Where I kind of just ramble on about nothing...

[2008-08-30] @ [10:15 p.m.]

music Death Cab for Cutie - Marching Bands of Manhatten

I've trying to hide. I really don't know why. Hiding always seems to be good plan.

I haven't updated in a week. I did survive the first week of classes although there were a few moments where I was about to bite off someone's head. Hey, new routines take time. So in between trying to pretend everything was all normal, feeling like a raging lunatic, and a no good lazy college senior, I survived the week. A pity my damn 'z' key keeps popping off my keyboard. Damn you, 'z' key. I seriously need a new keyboard on my laptop.

So classes are classes. Government is reading and discussion. At least it will be interesting because it is an election year. My senior sem topic is writing trauma and trauma studies. So I get to write a twenty page paper about something like that. I have basic journalism somewhere in there. The first class was canceled because he professor was sick or something so I'll be going to that Tuesday night. I have a Women in Ancient Greece and Rome class somewhere in there where is seems to be about sex and gender roles. There's a language in there that I'm still undecided about. And I'm still looking for a job.

Other than that, there really isn't too much going on. I'm fighting the inevitable truth of graduation, I'm trying to stay on top of my studies and have fun. I get to see one of my best friends get baptized tomorrow afternoon. I mean, I'm not really religious. I'm Christian, or at least I consider myself so, but I'm more spiritual because I do believe in Karma and other things. I don't believe there is one right religion and all others are crap. People can choose whatever they want. But I felt really special when she called this afternoon asking if I would go. So after that tomorrow, I get my first run as babysitter.

I find the idea kind of overwhelming because I'm going to be watching my best friend's daughter (the same one who is getting baptized tomorrow) while she and her husband go out to a concert for some one on one time. Her daughter is almost nine months old and while she should be sleeping a majority of that time. I always have that feeling in the back of the head. I got to spend time with her daughter today with mommy close by. Deirdre, my best friend's daughter's name, is a very well-behaved girl and was a joy to be around. And she sleeps from like seven to eight. Maybe it won't be too bad.

I ramble too much and I'm actually tired. I'm not going to read tonight. I bought The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger Thursday night and have almost read the entire thing in two days. I'm saving the last bit for tomorrow night. I highly recommend the book because it is so good, but it looks like I'm sticking to government and my senior sem book instead. Oh well.

I hope everything is going well for everyone. If it isn't, I hope things start looking up. I'll get to things later.

Till then, cheers.

P.S. Arsenal beat Newcastle 3-0 today. I stick my tongue out at Arsenal. Hopefully Newcastle United will do better next week against Hull City. Bah. I ramble too much, too often.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage