set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Legally able to take over the world.

[2008-09-04] @ [9:42 p.m.]

music Lacuna Coil - Our Truth

Happy birthday to me!!!!

I don't want to start sounding selfish but my 21st birthday was one of the best that I can remember in my twenty one years of existence. The one where I was born was pretty awesome too. But today was just fun, and not because of the legal alcohol.

I started the birthday promptly at midnight after being out with some friends playing Dungeons and Dragons. I had not idea what I was doing because I've never played before but once the clock struck midnight there was Guinness and some fruity liquor type of shots. The beer wasn't bad but the shots made me sick.

So with only three hours sleep, I awoke to greet the day later that morning, slightly hungover. A great way to go to school, huh? I got treated to lunch with my friend Czaja with one of my roommates tagging along. After barely staying awake in my 2:30 class, I went to my four o'clock, the Women in Anicent Greece and Rome class. Fun class as always but there was another girl who had a birthday too so the class, with the professor encouraging it, sung happy birthday. Awkward, but memorable. Then Nicole, who is one my best and closest friends, drove me home, at least I thought she was. She and my roommates had been planning dinner for everyone so that was fun. After that, Barnes and Noble and then home.

But not before stopping for some necessary gear. See, Tropical Storm Hanna is coming up the coast towards us. I'm hoping it isn't serious but they cancelled classes for tomorrow and made everyone who lives on campus leave until Sunday. At least I get to live off campus and don't have to deal with it. Hopefully there won't anything bad with this storm and it'll just rain a lot. I like my electricity. But I picked up some water, extra batteries, candles, and some vodka and rum. Just because I'm old enough. :P

Today was a great day, not just because I became legal, but because of my friends and family that were here to share and remember it.

Ah. I'm yawning and very tired. I'm going to get ready for bed, check my laundry, and read and try to sleep some tonight.

It's just a pity Newcastle boss Kevin Keegan quit today. The controversy surrounding it yesterday was better than a soap opera but I don't like the ending. It made me sad.

Oh well. Till then, cheers.

And if you could send some good juju in preparation of Hanna and possibly Ike missing us or being no trouble at all, it would be much appreciated.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage