set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

You'll be raining with the fish!

[2008-09-06] @ [11:37 p.m.]

music Paul Oakenfold - Dread Rock

Is it horrible of me to want to shout to my roommates when they turn down the AC to 75 and leave it there that they're killing the planet with global warming? I mean, I understand being hot. The apartment utilizes the AC well, except in their bedroom where it is hot. They have fans they could run or open the door. I want to tell them to turn on their fan but if I did, I would probably snap at them and I don't want to make them feel bad. The idea of energy bills and money makes me cringe. That was just a quick, unnecessary rant. I didn't do anything, I swear. Further proof I am becoming an old lady in my age.

So, that aside, thanks to those who left me birthday wishes. Once my internet continues to cooperate, I get back to doing that.

So the storm was pleasantly a let down. We got Ernesto two years ago the weekend before my birthday. Then there was Isabel during my junior year in high school, about the third week of September. Those were something to be upset about, especially Isabel. I lost power for six days and was out of school for a week. Ugh, the memories. Anyways, the thing that Hanna was is just wind and rain. Like a Nor'easter, a hurricane like system that occurs in the winter instead of hurricane season. It was surprising to see the storm traveling northeast really quickly. I was so glad not lose power, because even though I'm prepared, it is a major inconvenience. But it didn't happen so I'm happy. And I didn't break open anything, hahaha. That last bit was meant to be a joke. Horrible, but a joke nonetheless.

It is still really surreal about the fact that I'm 21 one, and that most surreal thing of them all is the alcohol. I know, I know, talk about something else. Yet the idea of knowing that this is, what I considered the last big hurdle into "adulthood", is now here, it feel anticlimactic. Let me explain, I went and alcohol on my birthday and got carded for the first time. They remain unopen on my bookcase. I had to drop off a movie yesterday for one of my roommates and stopped again, this time picking up a mini sample bottle of Captain Morgan Private Stock and Jagermeister. I've never had it, and they still remain unopened on my bookshelf with the larger bottles of liquor. I like to stare at them and think about the dreamlike quality of this situation. I'm 21. I still can't believe I'm 21 and how the passage of time just goes on.

I'm not having a mid-life crisis yet, nor anything else. Those bottles will remain closed unless I have friends over or a party or something.

I speak too much of random things, or gloomy, morose things for that matter. I need to get started on my homework before I get my butt kicked again this weekend. I found another possible job working as an AVID tutor with the local school system. I need to get the application in but it pays $10.50 an hour so there might be something to that. It sounds interesting enough and if I want to go into education, it might be a good experience. I'm still waiting to hear back on five other job applications I turned in. I hate waiting.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage