set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Ode to a laptop screen

[2008-09-18] @ [8:48 a.m.]

music System of a Down - Streamline

Another one of my famous letters to things that annoy me.

Dear my Dell Laptop Screen,

I'll shall say it bluntly, laptop screen, sparing no kindness. You are a horrible computer screen because you had to go and ruing three and a half years of happiness by deciding to die while everything keeps running. At least your buddies like harddrive, video card, and motherboard still work but you, laptop screen shall earn no sympathy.

I put lovely stickers on you through out the years, making you the envy of all the other laptops. I was careful when I would turn you on to check email and do my work or during one of my insomanic nights. We had some fun times, didn't we, laptop screen?

But yesterday, yesterday was great until you decided to ruin it. I found a job, finally after five weeks of searching, working for the university catering department on the weenkends. I had a job and I was so excited for it. I thought I would celebrate by jumping online and telling the world on here. But you had to ruin it all by not working, and then resulting in a long two hour call to Dell, more than half of it on hold listening to horrid classical music and a machine women's voice about Dell's greatness.

I was ready to scream until I got a tech person that I could barely understand, felt like wasn't listening nor really cared to help with my computer problems.

So you left me embittered and to go watch "Beauty and the Beast" with my roommates with a bottle of beer. Despite it being really good beer and me remembering my happy childhood memories, I went to bed upset at two in the morning to wake up at six in the morning.

Techincally, laptop screen, we should be working on a paper we have due next week in senior seminar but we can't because you decided to break.

You fail times a thousand. I hope the tech person comes out and replaces you, laptop screen because we're through and your replacement will be so much better. You can join the crappy cell phones that kept breaking all last year.

You fail again, laptop screen, times a trillion.

-Kelly

This being said, my computer access is limited with email and what not. I have no idea how I'm going to get this paper done, especially since I don't live on campus. Looking for positive, my computer is broken, it's just the screen. Also, at least I'm employed now. That makes me happy too. Ugh. I hate waiting, it makes me crazy.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage