set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Brain takes a holiday.

[2008-09-27] @ [7:35 p.m.]

music Flogging Molly - Float

The mini bad luck streak strikes again, or Kelly is just really clumsy.

I went to the McDonald's this morning that's at the opening of my apartment complex. I wanted some goodness gracious greasy food, which is rare. So when I was walking out, I don't know what happened. Maybe I got distracted or wasn't paying attention.

A Reenactment:
Me: Oh, what a beautiful morning! I'm just walking along minding my own business. Ta da ah la!
My left foot: What a beautiful day. I love wearing flip flops on such a beautiful warm day.
Common sense: Why am I in the box! [Gets free] Oh shit, watch out for that--
[I go down in a heap right as a car goes by. Gritting teeth, cussing up a storm]
Me: Sonofabitch, sonofabitch! Don't be sprained, don't be sprained! [Begins limping back to apartment, trying to walk normally]
Left foot/ankle: I wants my mommy! It hurts!!!!

The End.

Point is, I was stepping off one of these little drainage things, that is basically an inclined curb and twisted my ankle pretty badly. Fine I sprained the damn sucker. I haven't sprained anything since I was nine when I got thrown off a horse, and even then it was my left wrist.

It's only a minor sprain or a major twist depending on how you look at it. My swelling is minor and I've been icing it throughout the day, trying to keep it elevated. But this old ace bandage I'm borrowing from a friend is annoying and clunky and I really can't walk easily without it. I'm trying to convince one of my roommates to drive me to the local grocery store so I can pick up my own, slightly better bandage for a few bucks so I can continue to walk a bit easier as well as some comfort. Or even better, since it is so minor, that it heals by Monday. That would be fantastic.

Other than that, things are good. My computer is finally fixed so I can't complain too much. The Advil I found earlier is finally kicking in and now it's just a dull achy, that's manageable. I really don't need to wear the Ace Bandage right now. Super cool, but I should probably be keeping it elevated.

Till then, I'm going to do some homework and then bed. Sounds exciting, doesn't it?

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage