set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

The universal sign.

[2008-12-18] @ [5:28 p.m.]

42.

That's the meaning of life.

I consider myself spiritual, religious, whatever. I believe in fate and a higher power. I also believe in karma. Do good things in your life, good things happen to you. Likewise, with the bad stuff.

So with the past two grad schools that I have applied to, something gets caught and messes up the process. With Maryland, ETS screwed up my GRE records with them and my application said I had not give them my scores. UNC was the transcripts. I sent those damn things out in November and the online status thing says it hasn't received my transcripts. I've been on the phone with both of these schools and have been assured these problems have been taking care of, despite getting an email from Maryland today about my damn GRE scores.

I took them, they're attached to my record!

I did my Georgia application this afternoon. I'm putting the finishing touches on my extra stuff. I was hoping not to catch a snag with this process. Universal sign strikes again. One of my recommendators won't be able to submit until two weeks after the deadline. I have to get back on the phone tomorrow. If I can't work something out, well, I'll be pissed off to say it nicely.

I'm sorry if I am ranting and bitching a lot. But I am stressed out about this. And frustrated. I'm putting in all this work, all this time and effort, and I feel like I'm getting screwed over on it because one little detail that I took care of ends getting screwed up with the potential of voiding my entire application. So yeah, it's a big deal, especially the money side.

I have my parents questioning me why am I doing this? I think they might even be questioning my sanity. Why am I doing this? Why am I putting myself through all this trouble? Simple. It's a dream of mine to go to grad school. I've never gone after a dream or some goal this big before. I've always been too afraid. And know what? I want to go to freaking grad school and I won't go down without a fight.

Right now though, it feels like the universe is trying to give me some sign to tell me to give up or it will screw me over. I must have bad karma, and need to find a way to fix it. Or get some good luck.

Ugh.

Till then. Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage