set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

It's cold. Real cold.

[2009-01-17] @ [10:57 a.m.]

I've been purposely neglecting checking my email and blogs these past two weeks. It isn't too intentional, honestly, but there was really nothing going on.

It's cold outside and in front of my laptop. I hate wearing socks so my feet feel like ice cubes. This is my own fault, but they're calling for a slight chance of snow flurries.

My life had been absorbed with cold and my intense interest in watching Newcastle United coming so close to gaining those much needed three points against West Ham last weekend and then AC Milan and AS Roma having a long stalemate also last weekend. But that was last week.

This weekend I am back up at my apartment. I worked eight hours yesterday where it wasn't too terrible, six to two. It was just so cold walking to work at 5:30 in the morning. I swear I lost feeling in my legs it was so cold though. Then I have the weekend until classes start Monday.

But Saturday morning, I find myself glued to my computer, watching an online commentary, with no video or picture, of Newcastle taking on Blackburn Rovers and watching any transfer news, especially about the outlandish offering of a �108 million (I had to copy and paste the figure) and find the conversion for US currency. A 159 million USD. Is one man worth that much, especially in the doom and gloom of the economic crisis?

It's been awhile since I've been so absorbed by a singular subject.

It's tempting just to crawl back in bed and sleep. But I think I might read before doing that.

Blackburn 1 - Newcastle 0. Maybe I should just look away now before I flail my arms.

Or I could just work on my last two graduate school applications and actually be productive.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage