set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Bold as a wild straberry!

[2009-02-01] @ [2:45 p.m.]

Superbowl Sunday!

Normally, I don't watch football. Well, the NFL I don't watch that often. I don't even have a team. I love this sport, which is called football everywhere else in the world, except here where it is known as soccer. Newcastle drew to Sunderland this morning, 1-1. I'll settle for that, but reloading my bookmark to see the final score is torture.

As long as Newcastle Utd. stays out of the relegation zone, I'm a happy camper. But despite all the transfers and trouble news I read through my bookmarks about trouble the club is having, I cringe just thinking about a game. And the funny thing is, three year ago I detested sports.

Until I worked in a pizzeria one summer with Moroccan cooks and the World Cup always on. I though, hey, I better brush up on this to have something to talk about around the water cooler. I picked Italy (Forza Azzurri!) before they even played their first game, because I got some Italian in the heritage. Hell, my last name is Italian. And guess who won in 2006? Gli Azzurri on freaking penalty kicks. I remember walking into work, wearing a hat my mom had gotten me to keep the hair out of my face (and the food). The hat was blue and said 'Italia' on the front. I remember going up to customers, asking how they were that evening, and when they asked in return how I was, I remember grinning ear to ear replying, "Fantastic. Italy just won the World Cup."

Never before had I been so happy about a sports team winning. I played rec softball for five years. I think I was good, but I would be upset if we lost and happy if we won. It was never life and death. I just played for fun and that was it.

I guess I lacked passion for the team and just enjoyed playing (so long as I got the ball).

But I love watching soccer, especially tracking Newcastle United and A.C. Milan. Transfers are like a soap opera, but real. Then when national teams play, it's like something else entirely.

But I digress.

Today is Superbowl Sunday. Steelers vs. Cardinals, Metal vs. Birds, Inanitmate object vs. animate objects. For real, word. Roommates and I are haivng people over to the small apartment. Hopefully it doesn't get too nosiey just because I don't fancy our neighbors downstairs hitting the walls below us. It's happened a few time before. Anyways, I've got my miniumal amount of cooking in. We can all clap and go hurray.

So, I need to finish cleaning the kitchen.

Till later, cheers.

P.S. I'm rooting for the Steelers just because of the fact my mom is from Pennsylvania.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage