set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Smell it up your nose!

[2009-02-05] @ [8:39 p.m.]

Shit, it's cold. It sucked walking to classes this morning and this evening home. I was just glad my grandmother bought me a down feather jacket that kept the cold out. But still, it was freezing. Tonight is suppose be 17 degrees, 61 on Saturday and 68 on Sunday. Only in Virginia. My fingers feel numb.

On the plus side, cold aside, I got all my graduate school applications in. I was surprised when I got an email from JMU saying that they had gotten my application and they were beginning the reviewing process. The person added that they hope to offer admission and initial funding by the first week of March. This makes me nervous and giddy at the same time. Giddy because this is the first step to a positive answer that I've heard from any of my five schools that I have applied, this was my fourth application (I had an idea of what to do), it's an instate school, my writing sample was freaking amazing, and JMU really is a good school.

The nervous part. I applied to JMU in high school. They deferred and then offered to wait list me. But that was four (almost five years) ago. Things change and I've changed. And I know I can get into this program. Positive thinking for once. I impress myself.

But that does not change the fact that my fingers are still cold. I can't type with gloves on. I just don't want my roommates turning the heat up to 75. Then it's unbearably warm.

So what else goes on? I'm trying to remain annoyingly upbeat and motivated for myself to actually care about this semester. Once I got those applications done, it felt like a weight off my chest.

But I digress. Today wasn't bad. I woke up at a quarter till five. Went to classes. I finished Dubliners and drew a little cartoon of Odysseus and Diomedes stealing Thracian horses during Epic today and tried to write little Greek words in speaking bubbles with a weasel helmet. Yes. Weasel helmet. I chilled with a friend in her boyfriend that I haven't seen for awhile for a few hours before my last class. Then I came home and meandered about. I have no classes tomorrow so I'll read a bit before I go to bed, both for class and for fun.

I'm still cold. Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage