set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Here I lay, I've done it.

[2009-02-22] @ [9:40 a.m.]

I had trouble falling asleep last night. Thoughts kept running through my head something like this.

Oh my god, I only have three months before my lease is up. I am graduating. Oh shit, I actually did it. I got into a graduate school, at James Madison. If I go there I'll be four hours away. I can drive. But I need to find an apartment. Oh shit, where am I going to get the money? I can take out loans, right? Wait, I can find grants and try to get other funding. Wait a second here, breathe. You'll handle this. Look at the bigger picture. You've made it to a point you didn't think you'll see. You got accepted into freaking graduate school, working for a masters in English. You actually did it.

And know what, despite the anxiety I have what lays ahead next, I haven't been this excited in a long time. I actually did it. I got accepted into the JMU graduate English program.

What makes this even more sweeter is what happened when I applied to them in high school. Here. I still have four more schools to hear back from but who cares right now. I actually did it.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage