set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Basting in an apartment.

[2009-04-25] @ [8:22 p.m.]

music Lacuna Coil - To Myself I Turned

I don't care if I curse. It's fucking hot here. It's 84 and the air condition in my apartment is busted, again. The best thing to do is open all the windows and drink cold beer. But there is no cold beer so I go with my drink of choice, Captain Morgan Spiced Rum and Sprite. Shove it in the freezer for about ten minutes with ice, it's a delicious cold treat.

But this heat wave is here to stay for the next couple of days. Ugh. I am going to an airshow with the parents tomorrow and it is suppose to be 95. 95 on a runway will feel like 110 easily. Maybe I should wear my single pair of shorts, I don't know. After I get back, I am going back to campus, isolating myself in the library. At least they have air condition and I can get some work done. :-/

But aside from this hellish heat, I am relaxing tonight. I got pretty much all my major assignments done except my exams this past week. I am done with my giant Joyce paper and I am rather proud of it, despite my nervousness about my grammar. But this is not unusual. Much to my surprise though, I have gain an appreciation of James Joyce through my Major Authors class. A lot of people bitch and complain about it but I've really enjoyed the class.

In fact today, I did the presentation thing that I've done for the past two other years where I go up and present a paper. I did it on a paper I wrote earlier this semester on A Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man and I think it went over well. My roommate was there, Laura. She had a presentation earlier that afternoon, but mine went really well. Laura's presentation did as well. People actually asked me questions for the first time ever! It made me excited even though I found it difficult defending my choice to use Louis Althusser instead of Lacan in relationship to ideologies and postcolonialism. Look how smart I sound!

But I am not deterred for my love of Russian and Eastern European literature. In fact, I might actually have some spare time this summer to work on some books that I have been sitting on my shelf for a while. I call it my big reading project for Summer 09.





Widget_logo

I do intend to try and find a full time job or many part time jobs to make a bit of money this summer as I whore myself to employers trying to get hired. But I want to leave sometime for some seriously neglected reading before I had off to grad school in August.

Speaking of reading, I need to work a bit on my other stuff. Like reading for classes.

Till later, cheers.

P.S. Sunsets always seem brighter on days that are really hot and hazy.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage