set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Be like the rock.

[2009-06-23] @ [8:58 p.m.]

music Lacuna Coil - What I See

I guess it's been awhile. Three whole days to be exact. To me, the extent of time since my last entry felt more like two weeks. I guess that speaks towards my lack of interest in my own entry last time.

So what has been going on that I failed to mention last time around? I'm getting CT scan of my abdomen on Thursday at the hospital! The doctor called my cell phone sometime last week saying that one of my blood tests (after taking twelve vials of my blood over two different days) came back abnormal and she won't be able to say anything for certain. Talk about vagueness. I feel fine. I am thinking she is just erring on the side of caution.

I picked up the Barium solution for the procedure at the hospital this morning. The manufacturers work really hard to sell the stuff that will make my insides show up on the CT scan. It looks like a drink bottle, has orange accent marks, the word 'Cheetah' on the side, and the phrase a "pleasantly tasting solution of barium sulfate" or something to that effect. It even has a hole in the top for a straw. Seriously, how can one resist a breakfast of Barium solution over a four hour period with packaging like that? The American medical industry at it's best.

But the impending CT scan is not the only exciting thing that is going on in my life. I have my best friend's wedding coming up in less than a month and my dress is still being made for the position of maid-of-honor. I am really excited about that, even I am being begged to meet her this Thursday after my appointment to meet with the dress maker. I am told I am going to be really out of it between the Barium and getting up really early that day, so I am not really pushing my luck to drive an hour up to her place where we then drive out to the middle of nowhere to meet the dressmaker. I can do that Sunday on my next day off, when I am feeling more up to it.

Despite the list of things that need to be done, I can't help but think of the distressing rock.

The distressing rock?

There was a large rock that sat next to the English/Political Science building on campus. For four years, freshman to most of senior year, it had written on it 'it is distressing me...'. Thinking on back on it, it was a symbolic rock, anchoring a part of my undergrad experience. Whenever I think of the phrase 'it is distressing me...', I think of the distressing rock. The rock, though distressed, did not move for four years through countless weird Virginia weather, two hurricanes, and one snow day. It did not meet it's end till someone painted it blue and wrote something about leadership or volunteering the last few weeks of my senior year. Bastards destroyed the distressing rock. I am not quite sure what to make of the change but now you know of the distressing rock.

Anyways, I am going to try and read some. I have not been able to focus at all on any text I pick up lately. This is rather sad.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage