set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Jitters.

[2009-08-05] @ [2:47 p.m.]

music Baustelle - Baudelaire

I was jittery this morning when I got up. It was not due to the fact I ingested massive amounts of caffeine via coffee. In fact, I was quite content with just finish my morning yogurt.

I awoke many time during the night though from some odd dreams and having my cat displaying mad ninja skills and trying to get my attention. I had discerning thoughts of the actual drive in ten days and suddenly I recalled the trip back from JMU in March when dad was driving. I took a nap in the back seat and had dreams of the mountains falling onto me. When I woke up, I started recalling bits and pieces of the ride, including how I-81 is a major trucking route and how it is the norm to drive somewhere around 80. I can drive but I have never felt so nervous about a drive this badly. I know once I get into the driving groove, it won't be as bad as I think it out to be. But if that is the only thing that makes me nervous about the moving thing, I would say that is pretty good.

I've actually gotten to talk to all my new roommates over the past few weeks. I am really looking forward to meeting them in person because they seem like real-down-to-earth people and really nice. Plus one is a double major with English and French. Another plus is that I have been assured that since JMU is in a valley, snow is usually dumped in inches, not in feet. Another bullet dodged.

If I am just worrying about the ride up there, I would thing I must be doing something right. Four years ago, I was petrified about the concept of starting college and dealing with a roommate. All that now seems secondary. It is just the drive that has given me the jitters. But I am sure, after an hour of being on the road and I am up in Richmond, the last leg of the drive will seem like nothing.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage