set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Vertigo.

[2009-08-16] @ [6:12 p.m.]

To simply say I miss home would be a lie. I miss it a lot. I miss my family. I miss the land being flat. I even miss my bed buddy.

I think that the fact I am four hours away is making this a bit more difficult than it has been in the past four years. In my undergrad, I was only an hour away from home. It was far enough to be on your own but close enough to have that security of what a home really was. I'm glad I chose to go to college where I did. The English Department there was stellar. I made a lot of friends where I am working hard trying to keep those friendships going.

But the mountains. It's displacement. It's all vertigo.

I still feel kind of numb, like a blank slate, because I really don't have that much experience to form an opinion with. I would say things are going towards the positive but it's only been thirty hours since I've arrived here. I hardly think that is enough experience to form a genuine opinion yet.

The mountains though are making me go crazy. Everything is uneven. Driving up and down them is going to using so much gas. Driving down the big hill outside my apartment scares me. I think I may be developing an irrational fear of the hills because I always feel like my brakes will give out and well, you get the picture. I debate a lot of the time if I should use the emergency brake or not. I'll figure it out.

But if you ask me if things are going good, I would reply things are going very well, but there are still some bumps in the road ahead.

I have an orientation tomorrow along with a plethora of other activities that I need to accomplish like getting a parking pass and talking to some magical finical aid person and getting my loans to go through.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage