set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Hills full of adventure.

[2009-08-17] @ [10:13 p.m.]

music Lacuna Coil - This Is My Dream

It's a kick in the pants, well, it's a kick in my calves! My legs are trying to adjust to the new terrain. The walking all over the new campus was a pain. Literally. My legs are still sore even now! However, I am starting to think the mountains are becoming a bit prettier each day.

I sat in the parking lot early this morning. I had just acquired my two hundred dollar parking pass and I was trying to find the correct parking lot for commuters and I noticed the view. I snapped the picture with the phone. The quality of photo is horrible but the view looked beautiful up close.

After I find the right parking lot, I proceeded to find the building where my graduate orientation was today. I found the building. One of the things the orientation people said is that we're always being watched, alluding to the professional identity that we develop in grad school. I think I might develop a sense of paranoia here since I am "being watched" all the time, even when I go out with friends. Today was well spent with the orientation.

I learned a lot of things. Where I park, I still have to walk almost a mile to where classes are. I talked to some other people and learned that there are some parking decks near where my classes are. This should make it easier, or it could be harder. I'll check it out later. But I got my list of to-do things done today. Got my ID card and put some money on it. I got my finical aid taken care (I'm pretty positive). I even had time to apply to the first of many jobs. I feel like things are happening a lot faster here than I thought they would. I'll take this as a positive sign of adjustment.

Tomorrow's agenda: go back to campus and fill out some paperwork to defer some of my student loans, buy an envelope and try to explore the historic downtown on foot. I also think one of my new roommates (who lived here last year) is coming in. We'll see how that goes. I need to learn to keep my mouth shut and not make a fool of myself.

But now? Reading and then going to bed. I'll enjoy my sanity despite how boring it is with the time I have left.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage