set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Random notes.

[2009-08-21] @ [8:22 p.m.]

music Within Temptation - See Who I Am

Having a splitting headache and a nauseated stomach is no fun on Friday nights. I got invited to go to see 'District 9' with bunch of other English grad students but declined at the last minute due to my inability to feel better. I really wanted to go because I really want to make some new friends while I'm here and the movie looks just to be full of awesome. I'm sure there will be other chances to socialize but just not tonight. I have some decaffeinated tea and I am hoping that helps out a bit.

I'm sure this is not a sign of things to come. Like last night for instance. I had my first semi-sleepless night in grad school and classes have not even started. I fell asleep, exhausted, around eleven. I woke up at three this morning and was unable to fall back asleep till about six. I felt gripped with nervousness and fear about the fact this was actually for real. What is about being half-asleep that brings out the worst thoughts? I kept thinking that I'm not as smart as these other people. I wondered how I am going to manage to get to this level of thinking that is required by the professors. What about my atrocious grammar? My papers have to spotless and fully developed. What about my name being incorrect? I need extra money somehow...

At least today I was able to solve some of these problems through thinking and taking action. I would not be here if I was not good enough. I submitted my best work to this program and I got in. I bought a grammar handbook today that should help out some with my misuse of words and the dreaded comma usage. I emailed the graduate director this morning about my name appearing wrong on the web site and expressed my concern over it. She was more than nice in fixing the mistake and "correcting her brain" as she put it. Apparently she had a student with a similar name to mine a few years ago, amazingly. And the money? This made me the most giddy today.

I dropped by her office to thank her in person for responding to my concerns over my misused name and working to fix it quickly. She mentioned that had been looking to find some funding for me since I expressed interest in an assistantship. Although nothing seems certain yet, there was a history professor looking for a teaching assistant to help out. The graduate director passed my name and credentials along to this history professor in need. She told me not to get my hopes up, and if I did get it, all I would do is grade papers. I was ecastic regardless of her telling me not to get my hopes up. The way I see it, my foot is at least in the door, and I'm praying I get this teaching assistantship. I really want (and need) it.

The tea I started drinking at the start of this entry is really bland, even though the headache and nausea have lessened slightly. I have become more drowsy though with the tea. It's probably best I bowed out tonight. I'm really not feeling up to it.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage