set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Gasping for air in a sea of pages.

[2009-08-31] @ [7:57 a.m.]

music Leaves' Eyes - Irish Rain

I spent a rough guess of 20 plus hours in the library Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I left early yesterday to take the evening easy. I had a a drink and kind of zoned out with the rest of the evening.

The work has been intense. I've had my moments, mostly full of hallucinations instead of breakdowns, but nonetheless moments where my state of mind has been questionable. The library time this weekend was spent researching for a class that is about researching. I went through so many card catalogs (listed in books), bibliographies, old smelly books, old books of microform, and old books that smelt kind of nice. I need to find a zen when it comes to researching the old fashioned way.

My left hand is still covered in new and faded call numbers I wrote with my pen during the weekend. It looks like I got a crazy tattoo. A tattoo of library call numbers. Word. And the random phrase 'cookies and violence' standing above everything, even in the purple ink, since being written Thursday night at the bar with some other grad students.

I still have an endless cycle of work to do today (and forever). But some mornings, the mountains make everything seem beautiful. The view from the library right now is fantastic. Coming over the apex of a massive hill outside my apartment, the view is marvelous as well if you leave early enough.

I still have issues with hills, but at least I'm starting to warm up to geographical inclines.

But now? I have some theory to read and a response to type, on top of trying to figure out what an analytical bibliography is. While I am quickly discovering my lack of life outside of books, I won't say I regret this grad school decision. I am enjoying it at the same time I bitch and complain about the work load. I'm just one of those who always needs to be busy with something.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage