set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

You stupid kids, get off my lawn!

[2009-09-03] @ [7:53 a.m.]

I got an email from the manager of my apartment complex this morning. It was not directly to me but everyone in the apartment complex.

The apartment manager wrote to say how cardboard boxes are not mean to be thrown in the recycle bins, the grounds keeper is tired of picking up red plastic cups and a surplus of Busch Ice beer cans and maybe even cheap liquor bottles. I've seen more than my fair share of empty spirit containers and heard the mating calls of drunken college students. The ever common drunken college students often comes out at night and it's mating call is a loud, obnoxious yell followed often by a line of expletives. If you hope to catch a glimpse of these rare animals in actions, they must often come out Thursday through Saturday nights between ten and three and the morning.

It would just be really nice if drunks had the courtesy to throw the cans and plastic red cups to keep their habitat pristine and pollution free. Environmentalist drunks. There is a novel idea.

Now, I'm not entirely innocent myself. I have quickly learned that it is customary for English grad students to go out for a few after our last class of the week. I usually have only two or three drinks over a four hour period. Then I'm usually home before ten. I do not see the point in going around, screaming and immersing myself in the drunk college student culture.

I understand that people drink and party. I'm fine with that. But there is a limit. Binge drinking and running around like an idiot every weekend, especially when it is outside my window, is not that cool. It's just stupid. And possibly dangerous.

I am glad though this school at least has come to accept the drinking existence. Cops step up patrols and the school really seems to really cracking down. And I've been told my roommates the party should lessen as the semester wears on.

I really do like it here. The English grad program is great, the professors are wonderful, and the town is really quaint. I have no complaints about my apartment except the drunk kids. I am considering maybe finding a new place next year, just so I would have a lack of drunk kids outside my window during the weekend. And having no roommates would be nice too, but probably unlikely because I can't afford a place that rich and expensive. I really need a job (if I had the time!) or my refund check to come in so my bank account won't look so sad.

Well, I need to start reading some plays for this weekend before I spend my weekend in the library again.

Till then, cheers.

P.S. I think I am becoming an old lady. Keep of my lawn (or lack their of).


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage