set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

What whacky, wild weasel?

[2009-10-08] @ [8:26 a.m.]

Thursday mornings before 10:30, I'm not in a major rush to do work. Sometimes I might read for a class. Other times, I'll sit in one of the big, comfy chairs in the Starbucks at the library and play on Mini Me, my netbook.

This morning is one of those slower mornings, sitting in the coffee shop, browsing on eBay, looking at course offerings for next semester, working on a story and drinking my coffee. I know I should be hauling ass on research for my assignment in 599 this week but I just feel incredibly lazy this morning. The under laying need to read Pamela is extremely painful and boring. The protagonist is dull, thinks way too much about her virtue, and reads too much into her's and other people actions. I don't know how I'll finish it by Sunday because it is so painful to read.

Speaking of classes, which I did indeed do by mentioning looking at the course load for next semester, I have no idea what I'll be taking. There is this class that teaches how to teach freshman composition. I may or may not get a section to teach next year. I've heard mix things about taking the course if I'm not going to teach next year. I next to talk with the graduate program director about it next week. Taking the teaching class may not be the best thing for me apparently if I'm not teaching next year. If I am not taking that course semester, I'll be taking some course on American modernism and magazines that involves making a lot of bibliographies. However tedious the American modernism sounds, modernism (primarily British) is a movement I am interested in.

The other two courses that will complete my full time course load with be something on body theory and a dreaded Shakespeare course.

When I tell people I've never taken a Shakespeare course, I get funny looks. Who has ever heard of an English major not studying Shakespeare? I have. Me. Shakespeare is intimidating and I found myself not liking him in high school. But things might have changed. I've got scolded, in a jesting way, about not taking Shakespeare, especially now that I'm a grad student. Shakespeare is elevated to god status. I don't want some dead bard rising in zombie fashion from the grave in Stratford-upon-Avon because I read a play "the wrong way." However, this class looks at the political implications of his plays. Do I smell a Marxist Poststructalist approach coming?

But enough on that. I'm going to find some food this morning.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage