set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Nor'easter.

[2009-11-12] @ [7:08 p.m.]

In September of 2003, Hurricane Isabel hit. I was a junior in high school, sixteen, and it was suppose to be a huge storm. We lost power for six days, missed school for a week. It was hot with no electricity or running water. I knew people who lost power for two weeks.

Right now, sitting over Virginia, well half of Virginia right now, is a Nor'easter. A good old fashioned Nor'easter brought to you by the remains of Ida. I fell asleep Monday night watching Ida come ashore in the Gulf. I was surprised they even named the storm, hurricane season was over at the first of November. Watching the tropical storm coverage made me feel somewhat nostalgic.

Wednesday, we got some of the rain from the nor�easter in the family. It was cold, wet, and windy. Perfect weather for November I suppose. I know back home, my parents are getting pounded with rain. My undergrad institution cancelled classes today after serious flooding in the area. Today in the valley it was just cold and windy. My right was so dry it started to peel on my fingers. They say it will get warmer next week. Let�s hope so. This cold weather is annoying, but at least there is no ice or snow.

I am just glad to have this week over. The paper and annotated bib that I had due today got pushed to next week. The paper is written, I just need to finish the annotated bibliography sometime tomorrow to start work on my seminar papers. I can�t believe I only have two weeks to write them. The papers will get done. Things have a way of working themselves out.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage