set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Always bring a banana to a party. Never know when you would need it.

[2010-05-26] @ [7:59 p.m.]

I go through my phases of frustration, stress, acceptance, and can-do attitude.

I am putting pressure on myself because I believe (at least I think I do), that I need to get a job right now. Like by the time I count to five, I'd better have something. Yet I don't. I just turned my first application today; I have another one partially started online. I have a list written somewhere of other places and applications for minimum wage positions and server jobs in a folder on some table. I constantly on the look out for some entry level that I can use my degree for. Maybe I should just apply to some government job just to try but it feels too soon right now.

I hate feeling like this--stuck in between everything. Finding a job, even something that would provide some sort of income, feels impossible. Yet, I know it is too early to be disappointed. I've barely turned in any applications and have not received any rejections from potential employers. It is still too early.

I tend to be an impatient person and this job hunt is just something I can't rush. I made that mistake two years ago with a summer job, taking the first job offer I got and not pursuing anything else. Big mistake. I barely worked any hours and I hated the job. To make the hunt for the elusive job easier, I read statistics. On MSN for instance, I read somewhere I a good job hunt can last from six weeks to ten months. My parents keep telling me not to get upset because finding a job and getting on my feet will take time. What is all of the evidence pointing to? This won't happen overnight.

Maybe I should implement a different strategy by joining one of those social media websites like Twitter? I don't know tonight. I might be turning in an application for a server position tomorrow.

Yeah. Till then. Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage