set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Give them to your witch doctor friends.

[2005-01-16] @ [9:48 p.m.]

I've been kinda thinking about this lately. Actually since Friday during English because I was tired and I hadn't been getting enough sleep the past week.

Of all the books that I have started reading within the past year, about half of them I still have yet to finish.

Some books among these are Slaughterhouse-Fiver by Kurt Vonnegut, 'Tis by Frank McCourt, Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, and The Illiad by Homer (which I just started to read Thrusday). All of them are very good but I don't know what is with me and finsihing books.

With those books above, I'm in varying degrees of finishing them. But I try to ponder why I haven't (or don't) finish them. Dad says because I don't like commitment. I think it is I don't want the book to end like a good movie because maybe I'm afraid I'll never pick the book up again. I really don't know.

I just thought it is interesting I take almost forever reading and trying to finish a book on my own free-will, even if I like it. And one last thing?

Am I the only one that thinks that new shoes are incredibly hard to break-in and feel comfortable while they were still new?


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage