set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Bury my head in the sand

[2007-04-03] @ [7:11 p.m.]

I am so bloody pathetic.

So. We are beginning post-modernism today in British Lit. We spent over thirty minutes trying to explain the literary period. From my fragmented notes, I got that there is no single truth that the Enlightenment period lead us to believe but instead multiple truths putting emphasis on perspective. Life is a void until death and you either have the choice to celebrate that void or to be depressed about it. Also, there is no one true identity and that a person encompasses multiple identities. This is a condition of existence, fragmentation of identity Post-modernism states that we are products of our culture.

I probably sound really whiny right now and post-modernism probably sounds really depressing. After discussing it though today, post-modernist seem to have a "take it as it comes" look on the void they believe as life. Since they consider life to be void, to be nothing, what is the point in trying to control and plan your future if there really is no future to begin with. I like that idea. Just take it as it comes because life is really kind of superfluous.

I wish I could actually do that though. It feels like I have so much going on, I just want to bury my head in the ground. Just hide. It isn't this whole moving off campus by itself. It is this semester. It is a hassle getting classes. It is a hassle trying to figure out how to get all this work done.

Was I like this last year? I can't remember. Anyways, I am going to bury myself in homework. Maybe it will make me forget all this crap I have going on.

Till then.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage