set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

So it goes.

[2008-03-05] @ [8:06 p.m.]

music Lacuna Coil - No Need to Explain

Freaking out doesn't help. It never does. The best thing to do is plan, keep a level head on your shoulders, and take it was it comes. People who've been reading awhile know that this isn't me as much as I try. My message on gtalk right now is simply *headdesk. So original.

It is familiar for me to freak out at the slightest thing. It is a common theme this year, as well as in life. The pattern repeats...circular. Eventually, if it be days or months, I do find myself in this situation of waiting for the worst to happen even though it never happens.

I've been reading Milan Kundera's The Unbearable Lightness of Being for Eastern European Lit. It is a marvelous book and I'm loving it. The first chapter tackled Nietzsche and the concept he briefly resurrected, eternal return. Eternal return states that time is cyclical, not linear, and that all things are basically going to repeat itself. Nietzsche considered it the heaviest weight to bear, a weight being. To truly understand it requires a person to embrace it, amor fati, love of faith. To be light of being is to not care and simply make the most of this life, carpe diem if you will. Weight is associated through the soul, lightness through the body and physical world. Of course, this is how I understand it through Kundera's work. We've been discussing it for the past week and I get to read a ton of it next week.

I've the sinking feeling I may have taken on too much this semester. Break is next week and I know I'll be basically doing the same amount of work but the only difference would be that I am home. This is life. I keep telling myself that I'll get through all this in one piece because I've done this before. I've been down this path before. Goes to the old saying this is life. I get too caught up in the moment sometimes. I guess it kind of goes with that concept of eternal return that I mentioned above.

This has happened before and this will happen again. I have a midterm that I need to study for. I only have two more days. I'll make it through one way or another.

So it goes. Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage