set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Head for the high ground!

[2004-08-13] @ [11:50 p.m.]

The meaning of surreal is as follows brought to you by dictionary.com.

surreal adj:

-Having qualities attributed to or associated with surrealism: �Even with most facilities shut down... a few mavericks managed to slip into the park to sample the almost surreal emptiness before the shutdown ended.� (Peter H. King).
-Having an oddly dreamlike quality.

I can't seem to find a better word for what I'm feeling tonight. As I'm sure of most people know about hurricane Charley (strange spelling) in some point in time. The local news networks are making a huge deal about it even though they have been saying it won't be as strong as hurricane Isabel from last September or hurrican Floyd from back in 1999, in fact, it should be a tropical storm. And in the nine years that I have lived in Hampton Roads, I have been through numerous tropical storms so it is no big deal.

Here's the twenty dollar question. (I'm not rich). So if it is no big deal, why does everything feel so familiar?

I get a feeling of something big with happen everytime before a hurricane or tropical storm hits. We've been very lucky that nothing has happened to us except with the expected loss of power and the trouble of cleaning up debris when the storm is over. But I suppose it is the nervousness or anxiety of that dreaded 'what if?' sceaniro. But I always have a tendency to over do things. It is probably nothing like it always is. But I will probably lose power. It is inevitable.

I just hope it won't be for six days as it was when Isabel hit last September.

Nights.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage